Some of Zakynthos’ loveliest landscapes were formed as a result of the island’s seismic activity. One of these is found in the picturesque port of Aghios Sostis, to the right of the Gulf of Laganas where a wooden bridge, a few feet from the mainland, leads to a craggy island rock.
The rock was connected to the mainland until 1633 when it was severed by an earthquake which created Cameo Island, one of the most stunning places on Zakynthos. A café perched on top of the rock stays open night and day.
In the summer, the locals hang huge pieces of white cloth on long ropes stretching from the mainland to the island. As these flutter in the breeze, they create a magical ambience. It’s no wonder that hundreds of couples from all over the world choose to hold their wedding there.